Certified Nurse Midwife (CNM)

A Certified Nurse Midwife is an Advanced Practice Nurse who has specialized education and training in both Nursing and Midwifery. CNM's function as primary healthcare providers for women and most often provide medical care for relatively healthy women, whose birth is considered uncomplicated and not "high risk," as well as their neonate. Certified Nurse-Midwives, in most states, are required to possess a minimum of a graduate degree such as the Master of Science in Nursing, or Post-Master's Certificate. Additionally, Certified Nurse Midwives must also hold an active Registered Nurse license in the state in which they practice. The American College of Nurse-Midwives (ACNM) accredits Certified Nurse-Midwifery education programs and serves as the national specialty society for the nation's Certified Nurse Midwives. Midwife means "with woman" and thus is the mantra for the ACNM, "With women for a lifetimeā€. Certified Nurse Midwives practice in hospitals and medical clinics, and may also deliver in birthing centers and attend at-home births.

  • prescribe some medications, treatments, medical devices, therapeutic and diagnostic measures,
  • provide medical care to women from puberty through menopause
  • care for newborn (neonatology), ante partum, intra partum, postpartum
  • provide nonsurgical gynecological care
  • provide education and care to the male partner, in areas of sexually transmitted diseases and reproductive health, of their female patients.
  • work closely, or in collaboration, with an Ob/Gyn who provides consultation and/or assistance to patients who develop complications or have complex medical histories or disease(s).


Find Certified Nurse Midwife (CNM) Programs by State

Alabama (0)
Alaska (0)
Arizona (0)
Arkansas (0)
California (2)
Colorado (0)
Connecticut (0)
Delaware (0)
District Of Columbia (1)
Florida (0)
Georgia (1)
Hawaii (0)
Idaho (0)
Illinois (0)
Indiana (1)
Iowa (0)
Kansas (1)
Kentucky (0)
Louisiana (0)
Maine (0)
Maryland (0)
Massachusetts (2)
Michigan (0)
Minnesota (1)
Missouri (0)
Nebraska (0)
Nevada (0)
New Hampshire (0)
New Jersey (0)
New Mexico (0)
New York (3)
North Carolina (0)
North Dakota (0)
Ohio (2)
Oklahoma (0)
Oregon (0)
Pennsylvania (1)
Puerto Rico (0)
Rhode Island (1)
South Carolina (0)
South Dakota (0)
Tennessee (0)
Texas (1)
Utah (1)
Vermont (0)
Virgin Islands (0)
Virginia (2)
Washington (1)
West Virginia (0)
Wisconsin (1)
Wyoming (0)